Effective at 6 PM on July 23, 2020, Ohio will require people to wear masks. A mask will be required: 1) when in an indoor location that is not a residence (stores, restaurants & bars, offices, just about everywhere); 2) when outdoors and unable to maintain a safe social distance from non-household members; and 3) when waiting for, riding, or driving public transportation, taxi or car service. However, there are several exceptions: 1) no masks required for those under the age of 10; 2) no masks required for those with medical conditions or disabilities, or those communicating with a disabled person; 3) no masks required for those exercising or playing sports; 4) no masks required for those officiating religious services; 5) no masks required for public safety forces; and 6) no masks required for those who are actively eating or drinking. This order is in effect until rescinded by the Governor, and it will be enforced by the Ohio Department of Health, not law enforcement. Violation of the order carries criminal penalties, as a misdemeanor of the second degree, of up to 90 days in jail, up to a $750 fine, and up to 5 years of probation. Presumably, violators will be warned first, before a summons or citation is issued. This is a quite a contrast to the Philippines, where there is standing national order for police to arrest and incarcerate those who fail to wear a mask.
Ohio Governor Issues Statewide Mask Order
On Behalf of Law Office of Gregory S. Robey | Jul 22, 2020 | Firm News
- Founder of the Oath Keepers Sentenced to 18 years for U.S. Capitol Attack
- Charges Dismissed Against Alec Baldwin
- What Does the Indictment of Donald Trump Mean?
- Six Year-Old Shooter Raises Difficult Questions for Criminal Justice System
- Graduate Student Charged with the Murder of Four Idaho College Students