Understanding Ohio Sex Offender Registry Requirements
Under Ohio and federal laws, individuals convicted of certain sex crimes must register as sex offenders. The frequency of required registration varies depending on the seriousness of the convicted offense. For the most serious convictions, Ohio sheriffs must inform community members when the convicted sex offender lives within 1,000 feet of their residence. At the Law Office of Gregory S. Robey, our Ohio sex offenders defense lawyers work diligently to protect your rights when facing allegations.
The prosecution must prove its case against you. Whenever possible, our sex offender defense attorneys in Ohio seek reduced charges, case dismissal or other favorable outcomes.
The Adam Walsh Act
The Adam Walsh Act, signed into federal law in 2006, outlined registration of convicted sex offenders based on three categories, called Tiers. Offenses in order of severity fall into Tier III, II and I.
Some convictions falling under Tier III include:
Tier III sex offenders must register every 90 days or with every residency change for life.
Some convictions falling under Tier II include:
Adults convicted of Tier II crimes must register every 180 days for 25 years; convicted juveniles must register for 20 years.
Some convictions falling under Tier I include:
Adults convicted of Tier I offenses must register once a year for 15 years; juveniles must register for 10 years.
Seek Legal Help From An Experienced Sex Offender Defense Lawyer
An Ohio sex offender defense attorney can help you fight against conviction. To discuss your case in a free consultation with an experienced criminal defense lawyer, call the Law Office of Gregory S. Robey at 216-505-4950 or contact us online.